It’s Never as Bad as it Seems

So, like usual, my emotions had been getting the best of me. Hormonal surges, or personality flaws, it made no difference, God has a way of humbling you. I’d been feeling bad about not being able to feel bad about the normal things women feel bad about during pregnancy. With everything that had been going on with my baby, the prior stressors about pregnancy that had consumed my thoughts had been put on the back burner, and over the span of that particular day, I’d drudged up those worries again. The biggest of them being all the bodily changes women experience during and after pregnancy.

Because you see, my whole life I’ve been occupied with the task of keeping tabs on what’s fair and what’s not. A completely pointless concern in a world like this, I know, but justice has always been at the forefront of my mind. And as I laid like a beached whale in the bath, surrounded by lavender and eucalyptus infused bubbles, feeling sorry for myself and my baby, I came across a girl in a hospital bed while scrolling through the explore page of Instagram.

Her caption explained that she has endometriosis, and for the reference of any male reader, this is a condition in which uterine tissue forms outside of the uterine walls and on other parts of the internal reproductive organs i.e. the ovaries, fallopian tubes, the exterior of the uterus, etc. She underwent a procedure to remove this tissue, but it turned into a full on hysterectomy, after the doctors were unable to only remove the invasive tissue. In other words, all of her internal reproductive organs were removed unexpectedly, rendering her completely barren.

Then there I was, complaining, in the midst of a pregnancy. Albeit complicated, I’d reached this point in womanhood nonetheless, and to have come across a woman around the same age, who would never even experience the wonders of pregnancy at all was beyond humbling. I immediately set down my phone, threw up my hands and a prayer, and thanked God for all He had done for me.

Moral of the story, even through the thickest of your trials, don’t ever forget to thank God for what He HAS given you, and just in case you forget how lucky you are, He’ll always find a way to remind you.

Leave a Reply

